Red Bulls Dumped from MLS Playoffs

The Supporters’ Shield has not proven to be a good luck charm when it comes to winning the double.  In the last 10 years only 2 teams have gone on to win the MLS Cup after raising the Supporter’s Shield and this year’s winner, the New York Red Bulls, failed to make it over the first hurdle of the second season.

The Big Apple side was killed by the Houston Dynamo’s Omar Cummings extra time goal to loss 2-1 (4-3 on aggregate).  The Jamaican international was truly a thorn in the side of the Red Bulls.  He scored the equalizer in the first leg and then settled matters on Wednesday night.

Houston advances to the Western Conference finals to face Sporting Kansas City.  The Texas side will surely be smiling with the match-up having dumped KC from the playoffs the last two seasons.

Sporting KC defeated the New England Revolution 3-1 (4-3 on aggregate).  Claudio Bieler was the hero scoring the deciding goal.

Who will win this year’s MLS Cup?  Have your say on Soccer365’s facebook page.

Get in the Gear of the Houston Dynamo and Sporting Kansas City at the World Soccer Shop.  The WSS has the best selection of all the MLS teams.

In the last 10 years only the Columbus Crew in 2008 and Los Angeles Galaxy in 2011 have completed a double.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>